Jacob Mendez
Jacob Mendez

The Polish Screenwriters Guild awards were presented for the second time. We know the winners

In the full-length feature film script category, the award went to the film’s screenwriters “Philip” – Michał Kwieciński and Michał Rosa (signed as Matejkiewicz).

Michał Kwieciński is a film director and producer. He founded Akson Studio. He produced films such as “Katyń”, “Miasto 44”, “Wałęsa. Man of Hope” and “In-Laws”, as well as the series “Czas Honoru”, “War Girls” and “Szadź”. He is also the director of many films and series – such as “Extras”, “Jutro we go to the cinema”, “Bodo”, “Love is everything” and “Filip”, for which he received the Silver Lion at the Polish Feature Film Festival in Gdynia in 2022.

In the years 2005-2008 he was vice-chairman of the Council of the Polish Film Institute. He was awarded the Knight’s Cross of the Order of Polonia Restituta and the Gloria Artis Medal for Merit to Culture. Member of the European Film Academy.

Michał Rosa is a screenwriter, director and lecturer at the Kieślowski Film School in Katowice. He is the author of “Hot Thursday”, “Farba”, “Cisza”, “What the Sun Has Seen”, “Rysa”, “The Happiness of the World” and “Piłsudski”, director of the series “Czas honoru” and “Osiecka”. Co-writer of “Filip”.

In turn, the award for the script of the fiction series went to Jakub RuŻYło, author of “1670”. Jakub is also the screenwriter of “The Office PL” and “Sexify 2”. Previously, under the pseudonym Muflon, multiple champion of freestyle rap battles.

The lifetime achievement award went to the legendary screenwriter Andrzej Mularczyk – the author of the unforgettable saga about the Kargul and Pawlak families “Sami swoi”. 40 films were made based on his scripts. as well as the TV series “Home”. He also co-wrote the script for the film “Katyń” Andrzej Wajda. Under the pseudonym Andrzej Jurek, together with Jerzy Janicki, he wrote the script for the film “I’m counting on your sins”. In 2010, he received the Silver Medal for Merit to Culture Gloria Artis, and in 2011 the Commander’s Cross of the Order of Polonia Restituta.

A special award for exceptional contributions to the film community was given to Michał Komar. Author of a number of dialogues (including with Władysław Bartoszewski, Wojciech Pszoniak, Stefan Meller and Krzysztof Kozłowski), essays (“Conrad’s Hell”, “A Request for a Good Death”, “Fatigue” and others), novels (“Three “, “Initiation”, “Hidden”). Co-author of film and TV scripts (“Szpital Przemienienia”, “Olimpiada 40”, “Syberiada Polska”, “Dunek”, “Lord Jim” and others). He is the chairman of the management board of the ZAiKS Film and Television Authors’ Section, and since 2012 he has been the deputy chairman of the management board of the ZAiKS Authors’ Association. In 2013, he was awarded the Bronze Medal for Merit to Culture Gloria Artis, and in 2015 the Officer’s Cross of the Order of Polonia Restituta.

The winners for the script for the film and series are selected by voting by all members of the Polish Screenwriters’ Guild. Special awards and awards for overall achievement are granted by the Management Board. Screenplay awards are intended to emphasize the role of the authors of the screenplay in the awareness not only of the community, but also of the audience.

“In Poland, the role, number and visibility of screenwriters in the process of creating films and series are growing dynamically. The current perception of a screenwriter as an auxiliary function is clearly changing before our eyes. The Polish Screenwriters’ Guild initiates these changes, is an important meeting place for Polish screenwriters, and our annual awards are an important summary for us,” says Krzysztof Rak, screenwriter of the films “Gods” and “The Art of Loving. The Story of Michalina Wisłocka” and the series “Powrot”.