Jacob Mendez
Jacob Mendez

Brat: Debut album “Social Grace” in detail

The debut album of the group created by the guitarist Brenner Moatedrummer Dustin Eaganbassist Ian Hennessey and a singer Liz Selfishwas created in the HighTower studio in New Orleans (Thou, A Wilhelm Scream, Eyehategod) under the eye James Whittenwho was also responsible for mixing and mastering “Social Grace”.

First album Brother will be released on March 15 by Prosthetic Records. The Californian label is preparing a CD, vinyl, cassette and digital version.

Let us remind you that the band from Louisiana, founded in 2020, has so far released two EPs, a compilation and several singles. Brat’s wide range of musical inspirations ranges from old-school death metal and grindcore through powerviolence to classic New York hardcore, although the band itself she prefers to describe her work with the terms bimboviolence and barbiegrind.

The Americans’ new material has so far been piloted by the singles “Human Offense” and the title track “Social Grace”. Now they are joined by the third single “Hesitation Wound”. You can watch the video clip shot for it below:

1. “Ego Death”
2. “Hesitation Wound”
3. “Slow Heat”
4. “Truncheon”
5. “Human Offense”
6. “Rope Drag”
7. “Blood Diamond”
8. “Snifter”
9. “Sugar Bastard”
10. “Social Grace”.