Hades becomes the first video game to win a Hugo Award

The enormously successful game Hades by Supergiant Games has become the first game to receive the coveted Hugo Award.

While this is wonderful, it’s worth noting that the “Best Video Game” category was a one-time addition for 2021. The WSFS Business Meeting committee, on the other hand, has “been examining the prospect of adding such a category for some years already.” Even though it is a unique category, Hades’ victory is considered the same as those in permanent categories.

On August 13, 2021, the game was launched on PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, and Xbox Series X/S. Hades is brimming with mythology and character backstories that help bring Zagreus’ world to life. It’s a video game based on a modern-day Greek epic.

The public nominated 145 titles, with six making it to the finals: Hades, Animal Crossing: New Horizons, The Last Of Us: Part II, Spiritfarer, Baseball, and Final Fantasy VII Remake.
While the Hugo Awards are unclear whether the category will return in the future, it is encouraging to see the Hades’ team’s efforts recognized. This is not simply due to the hundreds of lines of thoroughly researched dialogue steeped in real Greek mythology contained in Hades.
Greg Kasavin, Supergiant Games’ creative director, posted little video to commemorate the achievement. 
“I wasn’t able to make an acceptance speech on behalf of the team though  [we] did have few words here,” Kasavin stated in his tweet. He went on to talk about the prize and what it means to the squad.

Kasavin ended by thanking the other members of his crew, their families, and the “Greek gods themselves, above and below, for inspiring individuals like us for several thousands of years now, and may they long continue to do so.”

What is Hugo Award?

The Hugo Award is an annual literary award given at the World Science Fiction Convention and chosen by its members for the best works of science fiction or fantasy published in the preceding year. The Hugo Award is widely considered to be the finest honor in science fiction.

The World Science Fiction Convention gave the inaugural Hugo Award in 1953, allowing its members to vote, with the endeavor starting yearly in 1955. However, 2021 is not the first time the Hugos have sought to include games into the literary parlor.

Every year, the World Science Fiction Society (WSFS) bestows the Hugo Awards on the greatest science fiction and fantasy works and achievements of the preceding year. The Hugo Awards are commonly regarded as the highest honor in science fiction.

Hugo Gernsback, who created the pioneering science fiction journal Amazing Stories and is regarded as one of the genre’s “fathers,” is honored with the Hugo Gernsback Award.


Everything about Hades

If you don’t know about Hades, no need to worry. Here’s a sneak peek for you.

Players take control of Hades’ son Zagreus as he attempts to leave the Underworld and reach Mount Olympus, aided at times by gifts bestowed on him by the other Olympians. The tale of Hades is intertwined with its gameplay to form its narrative.

Each run takes the player through a different set of chambers, each with its own set of foes and prizes. The game features a hack and slash combat system in which the player defeats enemies using a mix of their main weapon assault, a special attack, dash power, and magic ability while avoiding damage to advance as far as possible.

While Zagreus will frequently perish, the player may utilize the treasure he has amassed to strengthen particular qualities or unlock new weapons and skills, increasing his chances of escape on consecutive runs.

Stay tuned with Hitnewsindustry for the latest update.

For More Updates, connect to HitNewsIndustry.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *